Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

what spec of California to buy for best resale value?

M

Monty's van

Vehicle
T5 SE 140
Hi all

Would be most grateful for some advice for a total newbie here please...

We've had a T5 conversion for the last 18 months and absolutely loved it. However, following a good year at work, we're in a happy position to be able to upgrade - and a California is definitely what we're after...

So, now seems like a ripe time of year to bag a good deal, but we're still unsure what age of van to go for, or what spec...

Think our prime question is, if keeping it's value were the primary concern (happy to spend what it takes as long as we'll not be losing out when we come to sell), what spec / age / mileage / cost should we buy at, and then sell at, and at what mileage?

We'd not so fussy about the spec - only small things we're fussed about are e a detachable towbar (for bike rack) and sat nav incorported with the radio - and ideally a dark colour. Any other things we should make sure to have, even if not necessarily for us, but for resale value?

Any advice enormously appreciated!
Many thanks

Always a tricky question; for the car, there was an official GFV list so I could tell which options held money and which didn't making life easier. I don't think there's one for Cali.

A 4motion is always an easy sale so worth it if you don't like FWD.
Climate is expensive but pretty handy.
Privacy glass is fairly essential IMO.
Other than that, the satnav is a good idea but they all date quickly and get one under warranty in case it's like ours and needs new bits replacing.
Mileage depends on budget but there are loads of low milers around (we're on 23k at three years old).

Don't stress yourself on this issue.
Buy a Cali that fits your needs not what you think other people may or may not need in the future.
Californias are complicated enough without a lot of other added things to go wrong.

snowy55 said: