Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Wind out awning and drive away awning

DAVIESA1000

DAVIESA1000

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 199
Hi. I’m a newbie and am considering a drive away awning. I have A 2019 T6 Ocean with factory wind out awning. I have seen awnings that clip into the rail on the van can this be done with the wind out awning in place? I don’t want to remove the wind out one as we use on shorter trips.

Thanks

We have had four awnings. Two with panels that fix to the wind out awning, and two driveaway awnings.

1. Comfortz awning panels
1589931162988.png
Pros: small pack size, cheap, quick to erect
Cons: small, drafty, no groundsheet, need to pack away to drive away

2. Thule residence
1589931647962.png
Pros: can be heated with the parking heater, makes full use of wind out awning size, robust
Cons: bulky, expensive, needs packing away to drive away, no groundsheet, fiddly to erect

Vango Kela III
1589932446245.png
Pros: large enough for kitchen area, dining area and storage; option to buy a bedroom; sewn in groundsheet
Cons: bulky

Vango hexaway
1589933058771.png
Pros: elegant, big windows, single inflation point, high, huge, clip-in groundsheet
Cons: bulky, clip-in groundsheet, not fully suitable for sleeping

We currently have the Vango Hexaway and Thule Residence and will continue to use the Residence for weekend camping and Hexaway for holiday camping. I do really like the Hexaway, it is so big, bright and airy, and it looks good. It has the feel of a gazebo. It fixes to the wind out awning via a channel, and can be used with the canopy fully extended, fully retracted or anything in between. Our usual setup with a driveaway is with the canopy extended, but you get more privacy with the canopy retracted.

The Residence is also a great design, but painful to set up and pack away.

Loads to choose from, and you can attach the awning to the top lip of the wind out awning using figure 8 adaptor clipped to the top casing