Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

2 or 3 sit bench?

Sp0_0k

Sp0_0k

Vehicle
T6 Beach 4Motion
Considering it is just 2 of us and a dog we thought it is logical to go for 2 sit bench.
More space for other stuff. Any huge advantages of 3 sit one we don't know about?

I'm fairly new to this and others may correct me, but I understand advantages for the 3 seater are:
  • Bigger downstairs bed, albeit a slightly less flat one. Can incorporate second row seats into super long bed.
  • Extra floor rail means you can add two rather than one additional second row seats, making 7 seats. The double bench configuration means it maxes out at 5 seats (like the SE/Ocean).
  • The multiflex board for the 3 seater hinges, so the 3 seat bench goes back further if you want it to.
  • Probably mode demand for the 3 seat bench variant (due to being able to make a 7 seater) which may help resale. I may be wrong but it seems the majority of UK Beach owners go for the 3 seat bench.
  • I noted that the lack of a storage box on the 3 seater meant less in the way under foot, when using the interior table i.e. a less cluttered living room. The storage box on the two seater seems to keep you from sitting as close to the side of the vehicle. It was important for me to have the largest possible 'living room' (2nd row seats removed of course).
I thought about this and did my reading, recently ordering a Beach with 3 seat bench. 2 seater gives a flatter bed, with the second rail being positioned well for use of rail-based storage boxes or pod based utilities i.e. kitchens.

Hope this helps and if I got any of this wrong, someone with more experience will correct me!

Considering it is just 2 of us and a dog we thought it is logical to go for 2 sit bench.
More space for other stuff. Any huge advantages of 3 sit one we don't know about?

Last edited: