Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

4motion with diff lock or not?

M

Moots

Hello, I'm new to the forum and I'm wondering if anyone can help me come to a decision. I'm hoping to be owning a California soon. There are two available that I am considering. Both are 4motion. One has diff lock and the other hasn't. How important is it to have the diff lock, and does it make much difference? I have very little off road experience, so any knowledge would be greatly appreciated. It's a lot of money for me to spend and I want to make sure I get it right. Sorry if this is a topic that has been done before.

Moots said:
Hello, I'm new to the forum and I'm wondering if anyone can help me come to a decision. I'm hoping to be owning a California soon. There are two available that I am considering. Both are 4motion. One has diff lock and the other hasn't. How important is it to have the diff lock, and does it make much difference? I have very little off road experience, so any knowledge would be greatly appreciated. It's a lot of money for me to spend and I want to make sure I get it right. Sorry if this is a topic that has been done before.

Ours has it but I haven't had to use it yet (had ours 1.5 years)! So while I like knowing it's there, it's not essential. The 4motion system works very well on and off road but it's not the sort of van you'd do full on off roading in! However we've not encountered any snow - I used diff lock on our Defender a few times when it snowed to get me out of trouble!

We have a 4motion with diff lock (standard for my2012). I believe it became an option for my2013 and I can't find any sign of it for my2014.

The diff lock is for the rear axle only.