Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

about to take the plunge

L

leavethekidsathome

hi t4 owners :hello , sorry to sound dumb but I’m a bit :? , i think i have found the one i want to buy now but the chap selling it doesn’t know how any of it works!!, i am a female so i have had a mechanic look at 2 others that have been in the uk for years and they were high mileage and very worn so we then went to look at one local to me that's come from japan, it's in lovely condition and the mechanic said it's spot on :thumb , the trouble is the chap selling it said it's the first one he has ever had and was unfamiliar with gas/electric hook up?, so how does the night heater work? and what do i need to do about plugging in the electric as it's 100v? and finally for now what happens with the gas?, sorry for being dumb i'm new to this camping :oops:

At the risk of stating the obvious, what every you do, do not hook it up to European mains power. We use 230v AC here and Japan, like the US, uses 110v AC.

You will need to get the electrical system changed over and I have no idea how you do that or at what cost. A good auto electrician should be able to advise you.

What might be worth investigating is using a building site insulated 110volt AC transformer between the power supply socket and your van. These are coloured yellow, as are the cables and plugs, and come in different power ratings. Not vastly expensive and water proof so can be left outside the van. You can get these from a decent electrical wholesaler.

Other than that I would guess the van is the same as a UK one. Right hand drive too. Japanese imports are very popular and competitively priced.

Alan