Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Adding a 12v port california coast 6.1 july 2021

Trudi

Trudi

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Coast 150
I want to add a 12v socket that is powered by the leisure batteries.

Ideally I'd like it at the end of the kitchen somewhere. So I thought the easiest place would be under the passenger seat, by the leisure battery, in the indented section.

But does anyone know if I can wire it into an existing 12v wire there or if there's a spare place on that leisure battery I can add it to?

I'd like a permanent solution instead of trailing wires across the van.

20220210_154612.jpg

I'm no expert but I'm looking to do something similar myself.
My thoughts are to come off the leisure batteries into a new fuse box so anything that is added has it's own fuse and isn't directly linked into an existing circuit.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge can offer advice..?

Out of interest (me being nosy) what is it that you need to power? Just curious if there might be an easier alternative that might alleviate the need to drill into the plastic of your lovely van?

Buy a 12v marine socket off Amazon with a in line fuse, drill small hole in the plastic panel and connect to the leisure battery. You don’t even need to drill a hole in the trim, you could just use something like this instead but with a shorter cable (but use a 10amp fuse), and then just tuck it under the seat when not required.

CF53B31B-57F8-4DD6-953F-C619C46399E3.png

As far as the connection point to the battery is concerned, someone will chip in with a reply. Ocean wiring is a bit different to my simple Beach! so think you need to ensure that the connection is in the right place on the terminal to avoid confusing the VW battery monitor.

Out of interest (me being nosy) what is it that you need to power? Just curious if there might be an easier alternative that might alleviate the need to drill into the plastic of your lovely van?