Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Cadac Question - before purchasing one.

jillyfish

jillyfish

Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 150
Hi
Have checked out all I can find on here and You Tube re cooking to supplement the indoor hob in the Cali. (we have not yet got our vehicle, but anticipating the end of March). Agree with most that cooking smells inside to be avoided as much as poss, and like the look of the the Cadac Safari Chef 2 Pro, which is on sale at Amazon for £120. This looks like the best bet as there are only two of us. just a little confused about using gas supply. (complete beginners, we are)

Am I correct in thinking that this Cadac can be used in conjunction with either a CampingGaz 907 bottle (using hose and regulator) or with the smaller 500ml gas canisters that screw directly under the base of the Cadac? I note references to HP and LP in relation to gas supply but not sure if this is relevant and why. The 907 being LP? See that the Cadac is available as HP or LP but that the Pro can be used with both? can someone please explain to this novice before we purchase.

I think it would be handy to use the small screw in gas cannisters, as they are so lightweight, but wonder how much cooking time you get with them? Do most users carry a 907 just for the Cadac?

When i looked into this it was best to use the 907 version because the direct canister ones (HP?) can struggle with turndown due to the higher pressure drop. In short hard to control the flame. With the 907 version it can be adapted to take the catridge anyway. I have a spare 907 and 901 the 901 covers the base of compact size.

I have the LP version, because that can be used with large LP bottles, or you can buy an adapter and use the HP cans too. With the HP version you are restricted to HP cans only.

The HP cans are much more convenient but if you are concerned about value for money the HP cans are more expensive for the amount of gas and create more waste.