Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Complete newbie question - how to heat the awning?

simplek1

simplek1

Vehicle
Looking to buy
Silly newbie, over cautious question!!! we have a T6 beach, first night away is planned for this weekend.

We have bought the Quechua base seconds and plan to have that upto the door or using the wind out awning and having it set up underneath there..... I think I want to put a toilet in the Quechua for over night as we have 3 children and I am also heavily pregnant - and also want to use it as a space to get dressed in the morning, and to set up a little kitchen area with two little burners, but how do I heat it?
We have the inside 3 pin plug in the beach, and electric hook up - so I will plug the van into the EHU and use that to have a heater in the beach, but how do I get power to the awning?

Use one of these and run a hook up lead into the tent

2017-03-24-10-20-55--880803649.jpg

For safety reasons I would not advise that unless you have a separate one of these...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B001XPHO5A/?tag=eliteelect-21

...with earth circuit breakers etc. Which you already have on the van anyway. Just run an unwound extension lead from the van into the awning and site it sensibly, ie raised off the ground, not in a puddle ;) and use a low wattage fan heater.

You can use an IP44 waterproof extension or something like this:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00U930X5A/?tag=eliteelect-21

These type of fans are a good type - we had a similar one in our Beach - tip over and over-heat protection etc:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SMALL-LOW...040880?hash=item36121bb9b0:g:i6oAAOxyni9S~Nsx

beware not many sites provide 1500w on theire hook-up...
You might jump the campsite breaker and don't think they be pleased with that.

beware not many sites provide 1500w on theire hook-up...
You might jump the campsite breaker and don't think they be pleased with that.