Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Fridge - am I expecting too much?

P

Pd.

Lifetime VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 140
I'm new to the California life but have been using a converted land rover for may years of over landing and more general camping around europe. As we are now retired we wanted something a bit more comfortable including not having to clamber up to the roof to sleep. Hence we brought our SE last year but unfortunately has had little use but many more years to come hopefully. Mean while I continue to buy things for my new baby, make slight modifications and investigate other changes that I can consider from the vast array of information on knowledge on the forum.

My question is am I expecting too much from the fridge in the SE? my only comparison I have is with the engal fridge in my land rover (which I still have) and due to lock down is being used as an additional freezer very happily on setting 2-3, although its normally used as a fridge on setting 0.5 -1. The fridge in the SE never seems to maintain a steady temperature and requires a high setting to deliver even the temperature I am expecting for food storage around 3-5 degrees. I therefore did some tests using max/min thermometer of internal and external temperatures over a period of 3 days on both mains and hookup the battery results are shown below for hook up.

During the test period which I except is not very scientific the fridge was not opened and was left empty. It failed to even start cooling unless on level 5. The cooler side was pointing NNE so little solar impact on the cooling element (I hope).

1590585071128.png