Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Leisure batteries and long term van storage

K

Kiwitraveller

Vehicle
T5 SE 174
I’m new to the Cali club - forgive me if I make mistakes......
My question is around the long term storage of my van and the maintenance of the leisure batteries....
I have a 5 year old California which is used for a couple of months each year here in Wales (I live in NZ) - when away the van is stored securely. On my return this year the leisure batteries were totally flat and unable to be resurrected. I’ve bought new ones (yes,expensive). I have the main engine battery on a smart trickle charger and this was OK.
How can I best maintain the “health” of my leisure batteries during long term lay-up?
Is it possible - and safe - to plug the mains supply into the van and leave it connected for a year or so - I guess this would keep the leisure batteries charged but I was warned that this long term hook-up could cook the batteries?
Alternatively I could remove both batteries and put them in parallel (or should that be series?) on a second smart trickle charger but this is fiddly removing batteries etc......
Or is there a better solution please?
All help gratefully received.
Thanks
Stephen

Maybe leave on hook up with a timer to give it a charge periodically?

In my post above, I should have said that it is not an option for me to hookup to the mains every month for a day. The van is stored and not visited until I return after a year or so.

I’m new to the Cali club - forgive me if I make mistakes......
My question is around the long term storage of my van and the maintenance of the leisure batteries....