Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Recommended campsite near Sheffield please.

dfps

dfps

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 174
Hi,

Anyone suggest a good campsite near Sheffield please ? or a good place to rough camp.

We have to go to view Sheffield Uni at the end of July.

Thanks

It's not on the doorstep but I know folks (who are on here) who have used Camping & Caravan club 'Club site' (so posh showers) at Hayfield. Great and predictable timing for the drive over the Snake Pass to Sheffield and brings you in the right side of town (from memory).
The Crowden site (C&CC) is possible, perhaps a touch closer but traffic less predictable (and possibly horrendous).
There smaller sites closer, in the Hope Valley, but I've no experience of them.

This site just outside Bakewell is pretty good, 20 -25mins drive to Sheffield Uni.
http://www.greenhillsholidaypark.co.uk/
You might struggle to get in anywhere round the Peak District side of town now that the school hols have started though.
There are a few wild camping spots along the road from Hathersage to Ringinglow as well.

There are lots of good camp sites in the area. Personally I would be looking at the Hope Valley and surrounding areas.

There is a Caravan Club site in Baslow, sites in Hope, Castleton, Edale and various other places. My favourite would be Edale which is lovely spot with a cafe and two nice pubs.

Put the search term 'campsites hope valley' into Google and all will be revealed.

Depending on the time of day you intend to go into the city allow yourself plenty of time to get into Sheffield and park anywhere near the Uni. Traffic from the South West into the city can be very busy around rush hour.