Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Road tax for a Coast

J

Jandy61

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Cali On Order
Evening
Can someone tell me the annual road tax for a new Coast, I had a quote from a vw dealer and its quoted as 270, I thought it would be higher because of the price of the vehicle, but obviously I’m very happy if correct
Thanks

Hi,
I'm no expert as Ive only just ordered my Coast but the cost breakdown on my contract shows a charge of £320 for BOTH road tax and first registration so I'm guessing your quote can't be far off....

Hi,
I'm no expert as Ive only just ordered my Coast but the cost breakdown on my contract shows a charge of £320 for BOTH road tax and first registration so I'm guessing your quote can't be far off....
Yes plus a £55 first registration, that is good news, I thought is was going to be about 500 for the first 5 years or something

I'm really confused about road tax. When I go on the dvla website it say £1850. Surely that can't be right?! Do dealers include it in the price of the car the first year then the second drops to £450?

I think this is an old subject but my understanding/interpretation of the current VED rates as as follows.
For NEW Calis/MPV's
First reg fee - £55
First year VED - £1850pa based on CO2 emissions (£1850pa is for the 191-225gms/km category)
Second and subsequent 4 years - £150pa + £325pa for vehicles with list price (not discounted and with options added) of £40k or greater (£475pa total)
Seventh and subsequent years - £150pa

Rates are correct as of todays date.
Link to Gov web site:
https://www.gov.uk/vehicle-tax-rate-tables

I noticed that two members mentioned £270 for the first year VED as quoted by dealers. I would urge you to get this checked. If I look at new and historical rates £207pa is the rate you would pay if your cali was registered before March 2001.