Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Steering Wheel Lock

N

Nighters

VIP Member
Hi all,

Have any of you purchased a steering wheel lock for your cali? I am just wondering if they are the kind of vehicles that are stolen often?

Thanks,
Paul

Hi Paul. Good question I haven't heard of a Cali being stolen not to say it doesn't happen
Most vehicles these days are stolen with the keys as most immobilisers are good the Cali does also have a anti tow alarm fitted I think the Cali alarm is thatcham cat 2. So I would say you are better off looking after the keys :thumb

I've not done so for my Cali. I also take the view that protecting keys is the important thing.

The Cali has a Catagory 1 alarm which I think is better that catagory 2 but I am not an expert on that. Thatcham publish details on standard fit alarm which may be helpful when getting insurance quotes. Here is the link

http://www.thatcham.org/security/pdfs/c ... arCAT1.pdf

The California is listed on page 18

Hope that helps.

PS I discover to the annoyance of my neigbours that is you disconnect the tow bar electrics without unlocking the Cali the alarm goes off.

It says California is security system 1 which is TC2 i presume that means thatcham category 2?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

i bought a £60 silver steering wheel lock , just for extra peice of mind

Dont forget it has deadlocks as well :thumb

Freeley said:
It says California is security system 1 which is TC2 i presume that means thatcham category 2?

No Freeley. The document is headed up Catagory 1 so every alarm in that document is Catagory1. On the Thatcham site there is another document for Catagory 2 factory fitted alarms. That TC2 number is the reference number for the test I belive.

Ah ok.
I was grilled about this by safeguard when i insured with them a couple of years ago.