Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Things to Look Out For if Buying a 2006 Cali?

TravellinJones

TravellinJones

VIP Member
Hello folks - another newbie here - been soaking up info from this site for a couple of months now whilst scouring the s/h market for the Cali to suit us (me, my better half and our 1yr old).

I'm very interested in a Cali that has come up that ticks two important boxes; (1) it's a 4motion (we're in North East of Scotland) and (2) - I can afford it!

So far so good. However, it's a 2006 model which is a fair bit older than I planned on - albeit low mileage. I think I've picked up on a a few key points to be aware of (earth shunt, roof corrosion), but I just wondered if there are any other items to be aware of? I'm not thinking so much of 'general common sense when buying a s/h car' type stuff - more issues specifically related to earlier generation Cali's/T5s?

Thanks!

***EDIT*** I don't suppose anybody on here has a digital copy of the 2006 Cali brochure? I can't see one as old as that on the downloads section and it would be interesting to see what was standard spec, etc, back then. I'll just try not to look at the prices!

Hi there and welcome
You have pretty much covered it really I'm no expert on 4 motion but I suppose that needs checking to make sure it is all ok. Also service records.check the leisure batteries they may be getting tired so factor that in.Also check all blinds work and stay down and the roof opens and closes ok With no damage to the canvas. Also check heating, fridge and control panel work ok.
As you have children make sure the upper bed safety net is there you will need it later on :thumb
Good luck and keep us posted.

Worth having a read of the T4Forum, this would give you more of an insight into the non-camping aspects to check out.