Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Vagrancy laws in UK and Europe

N

nottsknight

Vehicle
T5 SE 174
I'm starting to plan hols next year travelling around UK and then in Europe. What is the law with regard to wild camping overnight and not on a camp sites in: Scotland; Wales; Ireland; France; Spain; Austria; Italy - is there any published info anywhere?. Many thanks

I generally assume that unless it states clearly "no overnight camping" or "private - keep out" then it's safe to park overnight.

Almost with certainty anywhere in Scotland where there is a right of access, England I have never had problems, France I mostly use Aires but the only contact I have had with Authority wild camping was when somone from the Mairie politely requested that I park 20 metres further left in the town square of a small town as it would be quieter for me in the morning.

Spain, Austria, Italy I have no experiences of.

I generally assume that unless it states clearly "no overnight camping" or "private - keep out" then it's safe to park overnight.

Almost with certainty anywhere in Scotland where there is a right of access, England I have never had problems, France I mostly use Aires but the only contact I have had with Authority wild camping was when somone from the Mairie politely requested that I park 20 metres further left in the town square of a small town as it would be quieter for me in the morning.

Spain, Austria, Italy I have no experiences of.

Thanks for the info - useful about Aires - never heard of them until your post - much appreciated.

Watch out for sacked VW vagrants :D

Spain is a bit mixed. We have wild camped with no problems in the North and North West but I would most definitely avoid the Med coast as there are Russian and Eastern European Mafias operating in that region.
Some of the Spanish forums talk about prohibitions in some provinces, but I have never had problems in Santander, Leon and Asturias regions..