Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Electric Cookers

Advice please on electric cookers.

We are going to be on Outer Hebrides for couple of weeks soon and with 907 refills getting like hens teeth we are looking at the option of small electric cookers for where we have hook-up. I'm no electrician but understand volts x amps = watts so if on 10 amp EHU max wattage cooker is going to be around 2.3kW.

I've not yet bought my first Cali (yes I know still looking but hoepfully soon the right one will come up) and so have a 3 way Dometic fridge which obviously when off grid uses gas to operate. Therefore thinking always using EHU when avilable to save on gas.

Don't want to spend a fortune but any good suggestions???? Even the small gas bottles used in portable cookers are seemingly thin on thr ground!
We use this. But on our recent trip to the OH, 3 out of the four sites (one wild camp)
we were unable to get a EHU. I also carry this, for outside cooking if we don't have EHU.

a5caa4ab315ceea0cc9f8df9c325c13d.jpg

20220903_104854.jpg

20220903_104944.jpg

We use an induction 2 ring hob but I am very tempted to ditch it for the traditional two ring cast iron hob which they have in our local Lidl (£26.99). Reason is that as the surface of the induction hob is glass, pots and pans are very prone to sliding off unless the unit is completely level. We’ve lost a few fry ups over the years! Do others experience this? Pots and pans tend to stay put on the old fashioned hobs as they have more grip. However the heavy cast hobs tend to take longer to cool down snd are more difficult to keep clean.