Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Help please

L

logyk

VIP Member
I am going to have to leave my Cali for some 5 months over winter, probably without the possibility of electrical hook-up.

Any ideas on what I can do to protect the vehicle in general, and the batteries in particular ?

I will shortly be parking my Cali up for the winter and would appreciate any available advice.

I was advised by my dealer to disconnect the main battery, but a friend whose opinion I trust suggests this may not be a good idea if :

1. The battery is of the lead/acid variety since it will be damaged by being left as it will discharge even if disconnected

2. Disconnecting the battery may cause the alarm to operate.

Any thoughts, ideas or advice ?

This is now an urgent request as storage commences on Tuesday of this week !

Logyk

I'm no expert on parking up campervans, however some lessons I've learned parking up motorbikes and caravans.

Make sure it's well drained (your fresh water tank and pipes)
Try if you can to park it up on a dry day after you have washed, polished and dried it off. Give it a run round the block to dry off brake discs and pads (helps stop them from seizing)
Grease door hinges, runners etc.
Make sure it's got mostly a full tank of fuel as this I was told reduces the condensation that gathers on inside of an empty tank when left for long periods. Used to always do this with motorbikes left over winter.
If you can leave the handbrake off put it in gear and chock the wheels this saves your brake pads seizing on.
As it's a campervan, suggest you take out any supplies or items that would encourage wildlife (a friendly we mice family) from taking up residence.