Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Uncomfortable Comfort Mattress

Morsels

Morsels

Lifetime VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 199 4Motion
We got a 6.1 California Ocean this year and it came with the two-folding comfort mattress for downstairs. Of course, the kids have bagsied the roof so we are down below. I find it to be pretty uncomfortable. It seems to have a bump in it around the lower back. Anyone else experienced this? Anyone suggest any alternatives?

Sea to Summit self inflating mattress. They make a size ("campervan") which fits the Cali perfectly.

Sea to Summit self inflating mattress. They make a size ("campervan") which fits the Cali perfectly.

I’ve been using the Sea to Summit ‘campervan’ mattress for a couple of months now. Yes, it is comfortable (we actually use it on top of the VW comfort mattress) but…a few things to note. It takes maybe 5-10 mins to fully inflate so if you’re stuck inside the van while you’re waiting for it to inflate then it’s a bit awkward as obviously you can’t lie on it until it’s ready to use. Deflating - don’t even try to roll it up to get the air out - get a deflator pump or you’ll be crawling around on the bed for ages before it’ll fit back in the bag. So yes it’s comfortable but a lot of hassle to actually use - or at least that’s what we’ve found.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We kept our old Brandrup I extend its a softer foam and about 3 times thicker than the so called comfort mat. It folds in exactly the same way to sit neatly on the rear shelf.

We got a 6.1 California Ocean this year and it came with the two-folding comfort mattress for downstairs. Of course, the kids have bagsied the roof so we are down below. I find it to be pretty uncomfortable. It seems to have a bump in it around the lower back. Anyone else experienced this? Anyone suggest any alternatives?