Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

What does normal look like?

P

Philhenf

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 180 4Motion
Hi everyone. I’m a newbie to California’s and to VW and I am looking to find out what normal looks like on the cooling system. I have the TDI 180 PS 4 Motion - 2013 plate with 38k miles. So... having topped up the coolant to the max is it then 'normal' for the level to drop below the min mark once the system gets to pressure and operating temperature? If so, is it then 'normal' for the system to retain its pressure (keeping the coolant below the min) for several days after a run? Is it also 'normal' for the coolant to then return to close to the Max mark when the cap is unscrewed (and when the system is cold) as the system depressurises and the pipes contract? It's already been back to the dealer as it was losing coolant. They say they found a weeping T-joint, but my bigger concern is the pressure that seems to be building up in the system to force the coolant out of the tank and which is not then dissipating. None of my other vehicles seem to force so much coolant out of the expansion tank when at temperature and even when there is some 'loss' it always seems to normalise back to the max mark when its cooled down. Any thoughts or suggestions gratefully received....

Hi and welcome on your first post .
Just a clarification , is it the engine coolant you refer to as this topic is started in "heating and air-con " witch actually is for aircon and heater questions....

Hi and welcome on your first post .
Just a clarification , is it the engine coolant you refer to as this topic is started in "heating and air-con " witch actually is for aircon and heater questions....
I posted in beginners...and it has been moved here ...it is the engine coolant