Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

What should I bring to drive my Cali to Europe?

S

StevenZhang

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 199
Hi everyone, I plan to go to France next week and then to Switzerland. This is my first time driving to continental Europe. Excuse me, apart from the different sockets, what else is different from uk? Do they also use this hook up?
Thank you so much.
A447E28C-9243-4D6D-B836-A670EBE6A263.jpeg

Hi everyone, I plan to go to France next week and then to Switzerland. This is my first time driving to continental Europe. Excuse me, apart from the different sockets, what else is different from uk? Do they also use this hook up?
Thank you so much.
View attachment 62897
Most camp sits use that combination of plugs/sockets and sometimes need the full 25 m of cable.
French sites often insist on speedo type trunks for men in the swimming pool, eek.
You are rarely allowed to practice your language skills as the staff invariably speak better English than you do.
Enjoy your trip, we are following in September if everything stays the same.

Steven, enjoy the journey.

On camping, In addition to that standard cable, you will need a EURO converter, something like the below

As the mainland is all in kilometers, I use an old mobile phone with a speedometer app to display a speedo digital read out. Takes the guess work out of speed limits.

The only other item will be the headlight beam converter (Halfords have them) or if you have led lights then setting the travel mode on it.

Also, not sure if you are carrying cycles, in which case , I think in Switzerland, you need one of them red and white striped plated hanging at the tail end. Not too sure about this, but do check.
6946e4388d9655ec4a8adcbc3a26dbdf.jpg

Steven, enjoy the journey.

On camping, In addition to that standard cable, you will need a EURO converter, something like the below