What's with the waving?

Skylark2.0

Skylark2.0

The adventure with Starlight Expess begins
Top Poster
VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 180 4Motion
So, do we wave at all vw campervans including splitties, just T 5 conversions or just Cali's? My teenage son will disown me otherwise :oops:

I wave at all the modern vw campervans. I've found that those in the 'classic' vw camper don't often wave back, probably because they think I'm in a Transporter!

There are so many good conversions out there I'd be fibbing if I said I could tell the difference between a T5 conversion and the Cali before they're almost past me! Maybe that's just because I'm a newbie though!

I wave at campers ,plumber van, AA , RAC, greenflag vans to name a few.

And who waves back? I've only had one wave back and that was a California.

I tend to find it is only California's that wave, we have had quite a few wave at us, at first we were a bit shy but so many were waving now it is good fun to do it to see who does and doesn't, some will only do it if you do and you can see them acknowledge right at the last minute with a smile or maybe they are just laughing at the colour of our Cali who knows.

After 3 years in a T25, I found splits, bays and other T25s almost always waved back. You'd get the occasional snobby bay owner (but not split interestingly) who won't wave at anything newer than a bay but generally everyone is very friendly even to the ugly sibling of the 80's version.

T4s and T5s almost never waved at me in my T25, so I'm afraid I've learnt not to do it in the newer van. T4s I find don't wave, mainly because it's hard to tell if its a camper or not until its gone by, so they probably dont attract many. T5s are also hard to identify sometimes and I found they pretty much never returned a wave or I waved at some builder or plumber.