Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

5m vs 5.4m vs 6m whats the practical merits or otherwise.

L

Legin

Guest User
So given a number of folk have owned PVC,s upto 6m and a cali at 5m what is the wisdom.
Not having done it Im on the face of it attracted to the 5.4m PVC as it looks like its still manageable for parking but is it ? The 6m just looks a handful to me but I have no experience.
Being stuck outside towns or on a site is out of the question for so no big whites.
Can those who switch back and to between cali and pvc share their experince of the whys and wherefores re access, parking and handling.
Not a daily drive and I already get the merits of a bog and basin so no need to repeat that bit.

Nope. But I assume it has something to do with van conversions
Edit: (I see now that @Azteccamper beat me to it)

6 mtr parking is problematic even trying to find a long enough space on a roadside, looking at almost a 2 car gap allowing for getting into the space.

6 mtr vans also tend to be higher roof versions of shorter versions again causing parking restrictions.

5mtr as in a Cali is comparable to a car, most of which are getting fatter/longer with each model update.
eg VW Polo is now bigger than the Mk1 Golf was, making that size comparable to everyday car use.

from previous experience of a 6mtr long vehicle you need to be prepared to walk further into Towns or some scenic areas and hunt out big carparks. can also be banned from using some streets on the Continent.

It's a personal choice between how much internal room and facilities (toilet) you require and free travel ability.
A case compromise.

To further complicate the issue I tend to believe that when in the 6mtr zone so called Great Whites become more practical.

6 mtr parking is problematic even trying to find a long enough space on a roadside, looking at almost a 2 car gap allowing for getting into the space.