Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Automatic

A

angconcerts

Vehicle
T5 Beach 4Motion
Hi is an automatic just as good as manual? Any pros and cons advice? Thanks

where's that can of worms when you need it? :)

IMHO I think the DSG is better, but you might as well have put up a poll on this, as each will defend their choice.
Aw really I didn’t realise. I’m new to it all. I personally would rather have an automatic but just wondered if mechanically there was a huge difference. Like you said probably a case of each to their own. Thanks for reply
Muc

When I used to have a 6 speed manual car i frequently forgot to change up to 6th gear. years of 5 speed and 4+overdrive gearboxed cars, even 16 gear HGV's previously.
with 7 gears I let the DSG worry about what gear to be in.

It is not very good at reversing up slopes and with a trailer on this operation is frustrating.

With rain sensing wipers, anti-lock brakes, climate control etc it is just another driving aid.

It’s worth saying that you should understand the differences between the earlier Tiptronic and the later DSG ‘autos’, the change coming around 2010.

I am happy with my manual. No servicing needed, like DSG oil changes every 60 000 km/4 year.
As I just use the van for commuting and longer trips (1000 km journeys), I don't really miss the DSG. When driving on the péages in France for 300 km, I change up to 6th gear, put on the cruise control, and I don't have to change gears for 300 km. So no real use for me.
The only real breakdowns you can have with a manual is the clutch, or a problem with the gearbox itself. Will cost you some ££, but less than a new DSG.
DSG needs maintenance of the oil, and eventually clutch or gearbox problems. And they are more expensive than a manual gearbox.

So in the end it is up to you. Do you really need/miss it? Go for DSG. If not, you have to choose.