Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

California - keeping the batteries charged when parked

R_Sargeant_CH

R_Sargeant_CH

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 150 4Motion
Hi all, British newbie here, waiting for our California Ocean 6.1 in Switzerland (should be here in a week or so, late Januray 2022)!
This will replace a faithfull 2008 LWB AWD T5 mulitivan that we formely used for carry or hot air balloons around. The T5 starter battery would go flat after about 2 weeks not driven because of the drain from (I guess) the alarm. We overcame that by leaving a good trickle charger connected directly across the starter battery.
Our new Cali will have 2 leisure batteries plus (obviously) the starter battery.
I am planning to leave the Cali permanently connected to 220v via the external socket (we are lucky enough to have a power socket in our parking space). Will this keep the starter battery charged as well as the leisure batteries? If not, recommendations? I am considering upgrading from the standard split charge relay system if that would help.
Richard

Possibly the easiest solution* would be to hook up the starter battery to your existing optimiser, as well as using the hookup to the leisure batteries. But surely the starter battery would be fine anyway? I use my T5 quite infrequently and it starts on the button with a 5yo battery + factory immobilizer.

* short of disconnecting the battery

Possibly the easiest solution* would be to hook up the starter battery to your existing optimiser, as well as using the hookup to the leisure batteries. But surely the starter battery would be fine anyway? I use my T5 quite infrequently and it starts on the button with a 5yo battery + factory immobilizer.

Hmm. Interesting. Our T5 goes flat in a week or so. I never investigated why. Maybe a fault?
But thanks for the immobilizer suggestion. Maybe the starter battery on the new Cali will not suffer with this issue!