Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop


Dealerships charging extra for Covid cleaning!

GrannyJen

GrannyJen

Moderator
Moderator
Top Poster
Lifetime VIP Member
Messages
8,485
Location
West Sussex
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204 4Motion
It's going to be the same as with those "empty" seats on aeroplanes to maintain social distancing ...someone is going to have to pay for them somehow.
 
Amarillo

Amarillo

Tom
Top Poster
VIP Member
Messages
7,121
Location
Royal Borough of Greenwich
Vehicle
T6 Beach 150
It's going to be the same as with those "empty" seats on aeroplanes to maintain social distancing ...someone is going to have to pay for them somehow.
And we are all going to have to foot the financial bill for this pandemic. I’d favour a tax increase over more cuts or bonds transferring the burden to the next generation.
 
T6 CFO

T6 CFO

Mike
Top Poster
VIP Member
Messages
3,790
Location
Bristol
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204 4Motion
Just had some carpets cleaned in a flat and the guy was up front that there would be a £10 charge for a disinfectant clean. Not a problem, he’s a good guy and fair.

How this all effects inflation will be interesting.


Mike
 
GrannyJen

GrannyJen

Moderator
Moderator
Top Poster
Lifetime VIP Member
Messages
8,485
Location
West Sussex
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204 4Motion
So coming back on topic, yes we can expect to see all sorts of charges cropping up to recoup extra outlay. Campsite fee's probably another example.
 
Velma's Dad

Velma's Dad

Top Poster
VIP Member
Messages
2,514
Location
Buckinghamshire
Vehicle
T5 SE 180
So coming back on topic, yes we can expect to see all sorts of charges cropping up to recoup extra outlay. Campsite fee's probably another example.
Yes unfortunately this is now going to get silly. The latest ONS infection survey stats (https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopula...onaviruscovid19infectionsurveypilot/5june2020) show that in England at any point in past two weeks only about in 1,000 people is infectious with C19, and that is falling steadily.

Even if that one-in-a-thousand person happens to work on my vehicle, and coughs on some hard surfaces, I would guess the chances of my thereby catching the virus, would be reduced more or less to zero by a quick steri-wipe over of the main surfaces (steering wheel, door handles etc), that would take maybe 30 secs?

And by the time the campsites re-open in a few weeks (hopefully), I'm guessing that the probability of contracting C19 from shared loos will be so low as to be negligible.

Just my views.
 
dynamicstall

dynamicstall

VIP Member
Messages
87
Location
N Devon
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204
Just had my Cali delivered back from a very expensive job (we won't go there) - service excellent, delivery guy wiped down all insides he had touched and keys etc, social distance etc all good
but then I noticed a charge of £6 for covid deep clean on invoice...apparently Listers Group has introduced this across all their dealerships not just VW...
It's nice to know they are taking care and doing their bit properly and thoughtfull,y but if everyone started adding extra for cleaning...most are just doing it per se as part of new normal I thought..
I know it's small sum so am I just being picky and grumpy? Anyone else's dealer doing this?
Yes I got stung 10 quid in Exeter.
 
Nick Stubbs

Nick Stubbs

The Rodent.
VIP Member
Messages
343
Location
Derbyshire
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204 4Motion
Ours was serviced a few weeks back (Parkway) no cleaning charge.
 
AnneMarie

AnneMarie

VIP Member
Messages
39
Location
Warwickshire
Vehicle
T5 SE 140
Our went to Listers Coventry yesterday and they added the charge. I refused to pay. They were a little grumpy, but I explained that as they hadn’t informed me ahead of the work I wasn’t paying. I get their problem, but they were still offering free tea, coffee, wifi etc, I get a video of the inspection, nice but not essential, so I would argue they could recoup the money elsewhere.
 
V

vwsween

VIP Member
Messages
94
Location
Birmingham
Vehicle
T5 SE 174
The answer is when collecting your vehicle you take an invoice for them for £20 for the even deeper deep clean you did prior to bringing the vehicle in. After all you like them and wouldn't want them to catch anything from your vehicle. Then of course there is the £6 waste disposal fee.
 
David Eccles

David Eccles

VIP Member
Messages
788
slight update
took my Beetle to Listers VW Nuneaton (same group as the Cov Van Centre) who cleaned down it when I arrived and then again in workshop and again at hand back. NO MENTION of a charge, or anything tucked away on invoice!
Listers Van Centre have yet to come here to collect payment and I shall simply deduct £6 from total and pay that. No response from Listers HQ in Banbury re the charge yet however...surprise surprise...
 
C

calibeach76

VIP Member
Messages
271
Location
Chester
Vehicle
T6 Beach 150
Just had my Cali delivered back from a very expensive job (we won't go there) - service excellent, delivery guy wiped down all insides he had touched and keys etc, social distance etc all good
but then I noticed a charge of £6 for covid deep clean on invoice...apparently Listers Group has introduced this across all their dealerships not just VW...
It's nice to know they are taking care and doing their bit properly and thoughtfull,y but if everyone started adding extra for cleaning...most are just doing it per se as part of new normal I thought..
I know it's small sum so am I just being picky and grumpy? Anyone else's dealer doing this?
Will they do this every flu season for a virus that is not only more prevalent but proven more deadly? I seriously do question how as a society we have become so weak and cucked by big government.
 
Perfectos

Perfectos

VIP Member
Lifetime VIP Member
Messages
1,973
Location
Hertfordshire
Vehicle
T6 Beach 150
Surely the point of the clean ( I doubt very much it’s deep) is to cover the dealers risk assessment for its employees welfare and its requirements to meet government guidance.
It has little to do with any benefit to the paying customer.
Why should the customer be expected to pay for the dealers protection of its employees and compliance with H&S guidelines to allow it to trade at all ?

My earlier sarcastic comment with regard to the clean ! I would suggest you look closely at the interior of your van when you get it back, mine always has some nice dirty marks on the trim when the dealer gives it back! Should the garage not be doing the clean as part of their work schedule?
 
V

VW Kev

VIP Member
Messages
2
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204 4Motion
Carrs VW in Cornwall charging £12 for the clean ! Scandalous behaviour - so will not get any more business from me. SIMPLE.
 
Justin Cider

Justin Cider

VIP Member
Messages
1,027
Location
Fowey
Vehicle
Just browsing
Was the vehicle cleaned/sterilised before it was handed over to the garage for service?

I’m not supporting the charge but one could say it works both ways.
I was at a motorhome dealers last week with work and they were telling customers if they wanted to book their vehicle in for work it would have to come in a week early (full 7 days) to sit before staff would go near it. Not sure what they were doing when handing vehicles back.
 
WelshGas

WelshGas

Retired after 42 yrs and enjoying Life.
Top Poster
Lifetime VIP Member
Messages
16,677
Location
Vale of Glamorgan
Vehicle
T5 SE 180 4Motion
I was at a motorhome dealers last week with work and they were telling customers if they wanted to book their vehicle in for work it would have to come in a week early (full 7 days) to sit before staff would go near it. Not sure what they were doing when handing vehicles back.
Maybe leaving the vehicle for 7 days after finishing the work before getting the owner to come and collect?
 
Borris

Borris

Top Poster
VIP Member
Messages
4,268
Location
Canterbury
Vehicle
T6 Beach 150
I really don't see how any garage can force you to pay such a charge and anyway once the VAT element is removed just how much exactly and what specifically will they be cleaning for £10. Given their hourly rates I suspect it's no more than door handles, bonnet catch, steering wheel, hand brake and driving controls. Anything in the engine compartment or underneath is unlikely to have be touched by the owner. Anyway all this is rather beside the point because if they are following normal H and S practice then the mechanic should be wearing disposable gloves. (You can get an entire box containing 50 pairs for around £10). Anyone else who touches a customers car should do the same. Most good garages even protect the seats with a disposable plastic sheet thingy. So unless the service involves licking the steering wheel etc I dont't really see the point. It looks like an @r$€ covering, money making scam to me.

If the charge is to protect the customer from their covid ridden staff then again I don't see the point. Most owners in the current Covid climate aren't going to drive off in their vehicle before first giving it the once over with disinfectant wipes for their own peace of mind. They would do better by issuing a disclaimer and providing the customer with complimentary disinfectant wipes on collection.
 
Last edited:
ArunAlec

ArunAlec

Top Poster
VIP Member
Messages
2,532
Location
West Sussex
Vehicle
T5 SE 180
Wonder if they are quite so scrupulous about cleaning when you are buying?
I had a test drive in a couple of cars at a non VW dealer at the weekend and although they were being cautious and keeping distance etc they certainly weren’t swabbing down the car‘s interiors Or keys before or after my partner and I were in them. The test drive set up was fun though! We were allowed to take the cars on the dealers “dynamic test route” ... we had to follow the salesman who was driving the “pace car”. Sorry @soulstyledevon ..... went for the 718!:thumb:thumb
 
Rich20

Rich20

Living the dream
VIP Member
Messages
937
Vehicle
T5 Beach
I tried charging my boss £12 for deep cleaning my mates lorry before I drove it. Guess what his response was
 
Top