Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Gas....on...off...on...off...on...off.......

D

Dream Machine

VIP Member
i'm new to all this and therefore being extra careful!! First thing in the morning I remove the bottom shelf, unscrew the lid to the gas compartment and turn the gas on. Last thing in the evening I do exactly yet same and turn it all off. does everyone do this or am i being unnecessarily cautious??? What about the gas tap under the sink....when should I use this??
Thanks

I open the gas when I get to site, and close it again when I leave (or any time we need to drive somewhere, then open it again when we park up on site again). We always isolate using the valve under the sink, only having that open when using the burners but closed at all other times.

We open the one in the back when we put a new bottle in and close it when it needs changing. We use the one in then van all the time.

Dibz said:
I open the gas when I get to site, and close it again when I leave (or any time we need to drive somewhere, then open it again when we park up on site again). We always isolate using the valve under the sink, only having that open when using the burners but closed at all other times.

Hi

This is exactly the same as we do. Definitely wouldn't drive with the gas bottle still turned on in case of a crash etc you would have big issues. That being said I have forgotten a few times when just nipping down to the beach. :?

SteveW said:
Dibz said:

Hi

This is exactly the same as we do. Definitely wouldn't drive with the gas bottle still turned on in case of a crash etc you would have big issues. That being said I have forgotten a few times when just nipping down to the beach. :?

Yes to this. Can be a bit of a pain as we have a tow bar bike rack so have to hinge this open to get at the gas even to make a cup of coffee en route. But we've got more cautious not less, about this, as I don't fancy the idea of a severed live gas pipe in a crash.