Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

new cali Ocean Versus Coast

claus vandborg

claus vandborg

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 150
Hi All

i am in the progress of ordering a new Cali but havent decided if it will be Ocean or Coast

Question how difficult is it to use the manual roof

i live in denmark and the price difference is big

Claus

I have a Beach with manual roof. Its no problem using manual roof, I wouldn't waste my money on the automatic one. Looking through past posts on this forum, it seems the auto roof is more prone to being trapped and torn by the mechanism .

Anything can be damaged by incorrect use. having said that if a manual roof were an option on an Ocean, I probably would have looked at it on cost and possibly future maintenance issues. I have to admit I have not seen or used one only having an SE and now an Ocean, but aren't there faffy straps and hooks ? As said I have no experience, so just a question.

Question how difficult is it to use the manual roof
It depends on your height and strength. We had a Beach with a manual roof which my wife (who is shorter than me and not as strong in her arms) found difficult to close. If you're not the only one using your California you should ask the shortest and least strong person in your family/partnership to try closing the roof.
In France, the Coast has an electric roof as standard (we have one), in Germany the electric roof is an option, so maybe that's the case in Denmark too - worth checking. You might consider importing your Coast rather than buying it in Denmark.
Otherwise, the Coast is a great choice; I consider it as an "Ocean without the nonsense".

It depends on your height and strength. We had a Beach with a manual roof which my wife (who is shorter than me and not as strong in her arms) found difficult to close. If you're not the only one using your California you should ask the shortest and least strong person in your family/partnership to try closing the roof.