Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Still loss of coolant after head gasket replacement?

mrbrightside1

mrbrightside1

Vehicle
T5 Beach
Hi all, I am totally new to the T5 community,
However, I purchased a converted T5.1 2014 Volkswagen, as we wanted to try our hand at weekend warriors travelling the South coast.
The first job we had done to the van was the water pump and Cam belt as these had not been done before and the van mileage was sitting at 105k. I noticed that the coolant levels needed topping up every 1000 miles or so, which the short story is I had the head gasket replaced about 2 weeks ago, which I thought would have resolved the issue. I am now find that it needs topping up after about 80 miles ! And I cannot see any obvious signs of a leak anywhere. Any advice appreciated, thank you.

That sounds as though the new head gasket has failed. Its hard to think of anything else that causes so much water loss without any visible sign of leaking. Is there white steam from exhaust? Is the oil looking clean or emulsified.

I think you need to take it back the garage where it was done and get them to investigate. Do you know if the head skimmed when they did the job?

I've read of some instances of EGR failure leaking coolant into the intake on T6s. Not sure about 5.1s. could be worth looking in the front pipe if nothing else shows up.

Hi, thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated, jeez, they really are money pits

A pressure test should show something. If that is still inconclusive they can add a dye to the water to make it easier to find the leak, noting that the dye will only show water leaking into the area under the bonnet, not internals like faulty head gasket (despite being changed). Often small holes in the radiator are hard to find and the dye helps.