Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Help required on how to buy please

MelanieW1

MelanieW1

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 150
Hi,

I'm just starting out with looking at second hand Cali's - I'm off to see a couple next week via private sellers. Clearly this is a very expensive purchase for me and I'm not sure how to pay. I'm driving quite a distance so can only really make one trip to each seller, so what to do? Assuming I go through the checklist and decide it's the one for me how do I pay? Do I take a bankers draft prepared the day before say, to the sum of my best offer (and some cash to top up if required) or do I try to do a chaps payment on the day but I understand this is not an immediate transaction and would require a fair degree of trust. For example I'd be agreeing a transfer, then hanging around for potentially quite a few hours (the bank simply states same day transaction) and hope the seller is honest and doesn't just run off with my money. What would you suggest? Thanks, M

Hi Melanie, I can't advise re how best to pay but I am just checking to make sure you have done some homework on Calis. It is great you are looking to purchase one of these great vehicles but please read up on potential issues before you buy ( roofs and engines are expensive to fix/replace), especially with private sellers as you will have less recourse if things go wrong. Happy hunting.

Make two trips. One to check it out, at least a day or two to sleep on it, check out the integrity of the seller, do the hpi checks, insurance quotes, call your friendly man at VW and get a print out of factory build sheet, servicing, warranty claims etc. Then arrange a bank transfer (allowing often more than a day for money laundering clearance) and pick it up. Sorry, but trying to do it all in one trip** is not a good idea imho unless you're a professional dealer.

**Buying a £3k hatchback yes, but a £30k to £50k Cali? No thanks. ;)