Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Laptops - with no hook up?

H

helenherbert

VIP Member
I have NO knowledge of electrics so a really simple answer would be really appreciated!
I want to charge a phone and plug in a laptop when not hooked up.
Please can someone tell me what bit of kit I need and where I plug it in - and any help where I can get it from too?
Have searched our wonderful forum but can't get past volts, amps, inverters, 2 pin plugs and stuff I find baffling.
Many thanks to anybody who can give me a short simple answer!

Depending on your 'phone type there's bound to be a 12v car socket charger/adapter available. Some phones can charge from USB and there are loads of USB adapters out there. I use a TomTom one which is quite expensive but it has a straight through socket (so you still have a socket) plus 2 USB sockets, one of which is high current for charging iPads and the like. it is a bit tall though so won't fit in the rear door side socket once the bed's down.

I'm sure Apple do a car charger adapter for their laptops but as for anything else, you'd need to have a quick search quoting your computer model to see if you can find something that plugs in without an inverter being required.

Remember to try to use the rear sockets though as the dashboard one will be taking the juice from your starter battery. Shouldn't be an issue charging a phone but running a laptop could be another matter.

Helen, another option is to charge the laptop via the inverter socket behind the passenger seat and use one of Calikevs adapters, this will save you having to buy a 12v travel charger plus you can use the adapter for othe low powered devices.

Martin said:
Helen, another option is to charge the laptop via the inverter socket behind the passenger seat and use one of Calikevs adapters, this will save you having to buy a 12v travel charger plus you can use the adapter for othe rlow powered devices.