Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Things to get checked before warranty expires

G

gatvol

All

I have been driving VW and Audi since I was 17 in the 1980s. Much as I love them, the current crop is much less reliable than they used to be and the parts and labour are MASSIVELY more expensive than used to be the case. So many things that I used to replace myself are now sealed units that are OEM only - and some may be amazed what "basic" repairs can cost. An independent VW/ Audi garage told me several horror stories of people who buy vehicles out of warranty and get hit with massive bills.

I have a 57 plate Audi S5 that I bought as a 3 month old demo in 2008 and this cost me a fortune in 2012 over and above its biblical depreciation - new radiator fan (over 800 all in), new intelligent key sensors (over 300 all in), new water pump (over 800 all in). The water pump was 6 hours labour for example as they have to remove the bumper and front of the car. Friends of mine are also running 3, 4, 5 year old BMW, Audi, VW, Merc that are out of warranty and are getting hit with similar sums. As the cars are so complex with so many variants, you can't really get bits that are second hand either - and you can still get smacked with big labour charges.

Might I suggest that the forum sets up a list of common faults that owners can run down when their Cali is perhaps 2.5 years old and there is still time to get fixed under warranty. I found the Cali handover checklist really helpful as my dealer missed loads of things as mine was a pre-reg that had been used as an in store demo car.