Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Tyres!!!!

tuono001

tuono001

VIP Member
So my alloys need new tyres and a quick search on the forum only seems to bring up is chat about winter tyres.
What are peoples thoughts about which tyres to fit? What sort of mileage are people getting from what they have fitted?
It will be used through winter, as second car, but I don't want winter tyres as I have the car with them.
It's a minefield when it comes to tyres as there's so many choices and with any forum many thoughts, but you tend to find forums have a slight preference.
Ta

I'm no expert on tyres so left it to my VW dealer to find me some.
My origional VW Dunlop Sport ( 3 years and 25,000miles ) have just been replaced by Toyo CF1's. Good value.

I also have some winter tyres Goodyear Cargo on steel rims which I'll swap round in November to see me through the cold spell.

rob

It depends on what size if you are after 18 inch I recommend hankook :thumb

They are to go on a set of 17" Thunders.
What sort of prices are people paying?

We replaced all four of ours recently with Hankooks and they are wearing very well, paid £128 each

I have thunders with Continentals on.

THe rears are hardly worn at all after 13,000 miles. I reckon the fronts will need changing at 15,000-18,000.

Looking at the price comparison sites:

Toyo £117
Kumho £127
Hankook £134
Dunlop £142
Goodyear £148
Michelin £152
Yokohama £152
Continental £156
Uniroyal £197

Based on that I will probably stick with Conti's as I am OCD about having matching tyres. Also due to the spate of spare wheels being nicked I am going to move the spare onto one of the worn front, replace the other worn front with a matching tyre and then put the least worn of the fronts onto the spare. Then if it is stolen it is not a massive loss.

As we are in to polls at the moment I wonder if we can do a 2 dimensional poll where we select the brand and mileage for that brand - that would be very useful.