Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Stalling my Cali

B

brother10

VIP Member
Hi,
Has anyone had problems stalling their Cali? It has happened to me about three times and my general recollection is that the engine has not yet fully warmed up. Coming up to a clear view junction, I have been in second (still moving slowly) and seeing my entry clear have pulled away only to stall. I have been able to restart quickly but of course the power steering is lost momentarily and I have to admit to a minor bit of panic. On the other side of the coin, when the negine is well warmed, I can pull away from a standstill in second without difficulty.

This new engine (140) versus my old 130 does seem to require a bit more work. Is it just me and do I perhaps need to readjust my driving style. Think I am more Mr Bean than Mr Button.

May I take this opportunity of wishing all Cali owners a great New Year and hard luck to the rest.

Bob

Hi Bob

I am not a mechanical expert & may stand corrected - but "Modern lightweight diesel engines do not have much torque at low revs"

We too have experienced your problem when we fail to keep the engine spinning. I compare to Landrovers & Toyotas of old that would pull away from stationary with no pressure at all on the accelerator without the need to slip the clutch.

Our Cali is a 180PS 4Motion manual & Linda drives a VW T5 2011 LWB Combi 140PS 4Motion manual & both require at least 2,000rpm to produce any usable torque.

I personally feel that modern lightweight diesel engines are best matched to an automatic transmission - but Linda disagrees!

Happy New Year

Paul

Our cali is the old 174 tiptronic so can't compare with that but i also have a 140 lwb panel van and have noticed similar engine charactreristics (i've also stalled it a few times!)
You get used to it eventually and change your driving style to suit.

Thank you gents and lady,