Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Winter Hibernation

ArcticMatt

ArcticMatt

VIP Member
Vehicle
T4 Hightop
Its that time of year over here in Norway where we have to change to winter driving. That means swapping over to winter tyres on the road. We're not doing that for the camper as its not going to be used enough through the cold winter to justify the expense of a full new set of tyres.

Anyhow, I need to drain down the water system to make sure it doesn't freeze and ruin all the lines. I'm new to the Westfalia so is there any hands hints or tips from you guys so I don't miss anything daft. The manual is all in German so it will take me time to translate.

Cheers :thumb

Assuming you know how your water tanks drain (fresh and grey), I've heard that leaving the taps open can help (although you'd need to remove a fuse to achieve this).

I've not looked where they are yet. I'm assuming in the back under the fridge area. It's in the garage at the mo so it won't freeze up for now.

Grey water is a lever in front of the rear wheel on the drivers' side.
Fresh drain is a white plastic screw off cap on the same side, between the rear wheel and the rear bumper.

Grey water is a lever in front of the rear wheel on the drivers' side.
Fresh drain is a white plastic screw off cap on the same side, between the rear wheel and the rear bumper.
Fantastic. Time to get draining.

Cheers for those pointers. Worked a treat but I've found the cap for the fresh water is knackered and has been bodged to make it seal. I'm going to check that list on here to see if I can get a new one.

Untitled by Matt Wilde, on Flickr

Don't know if the pop top T4 boys use one of these. May be easier to search for it's a shared part.

Just got my hands on a set of used studded tyres to so the winter fun can carry on. The van came with a set of winter wheels but they were too far gone. I've been stripping to old steel rims down and giving them a new lick of paint.