Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Do you ‘wild camp’?

chockswahay

chockswahay

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Coast 150
I get the impression that the majority of peeps on here use campsites most/all of the time. I accept that it does depend on location/country etc but I am curious to know how many VW owners spend time off site.

I am fairly new to California ownership and yet to really try the van but family and a few other commitments do tend to get in the way :D

We have had 2 Fiat based panel van conversions over the years and spent many hundreds of nights away touring across Europe. We have probably only been on campsites 3 or 4 times, all the rest have been Aires, Stellplatz and wild camping. We used to go on trips lasting 2 to 4 months at a time and only came ‘home’ to regroup and see family before setting off again!

So then, do YOU wild camp? :)

Occasionally, more in Europe than at home.

I get the impression that the majority of peeps on here use campsites most/all of the time. I accept that it does depend on location/country etc but I am curious to know how many VW owners spend time off site.

I am fairly new to California ownership and yet to really try the van but family and a few other commitments do tend to get in the way :D

We have had 2 Fiat based panel van conversions over the years and spent many hundreds of nights away touring across Europe. We have probably only been on campsites 3 or 4 times, all the rest have been Aires, Stellplatz and wild camping. We used to go on trips lasting 2 to 4 months at a time and only came ‘home’ to regroup and see family before setting off again!

The Cali is made for it. Half my nights away were off grid.

Even with the great lumbering beast that I have now I spend 25% of my time off grid.

Define ‘wild camp’… :)